Leave a comment

Funfetti Makes the World a Happier Place

When you work in the financial services industry, the summer is slow.  So, when my old pal MK decided to come back to work as a “guest” this summer, she really helped to entertain me.  And by entertain me, I mean we spent the majority of June talking about the emptiness we were feeling after finishing Fifty Shades of Grey and Google imaging our movie casting choices.  July was spent singing Call Me Maybe over and over again.  August was spent talking about how we don’t talk about Fifty Shades of Grey anymore.

On MK’s last day, the treat of choice were cake batter rice krispie treats…BOOM! So easy and yet so delicious.  These have been popping up all over the web because life is just more fun with Funfetti.

Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

Ingredients

  • 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal (or use generic if you are cheap like me)
  • 4 Tbs butter
  • 1 (10 oz) bag of mini marshmallows
  • 2/3 cup of Funfetti cake mix
  • sprinkles

Directions

In a large saucepan, melt your butter. Most recipes call for 3 Tbs of butter, but since I upped the amount of Funfetti, I added an extra tablespoon. Once butter is melted, pour in the whole bag of marshmallows.  Stir constantly until marshmallows are melted and mixed with the butter. Remove from heat. Pour in your rice krispies and cake batter and stir until everything is mixed.  Then shake in some sprinkles for color.

Line a 9×13 dish with wax paper and spray with baking spray.  Dump rice krispies onto the wax paper and try to spread out as evenly as possible.  Since you can never have too many, top with more sprinkles.

Let sit for at least half an hour.  Of course you can sample while it’s still warm.  Where do you think this corner went? Into my belly, duhhhh.

Once they are cool, cut them into squares and store in an air tight container.

Since your wondering, yes I ate four of these squares while I was cutting them.

Also, before you put that box of leftover cake mix away, you should probably do the following:

  1. Pour some mix into a small measuring cup
  2. Add a little milk
  3. Stir together and enjoy some egg free cake batter (it tastes better than it looks, I promise!)
  4. Repeat as many times as needed (my magic number was three)

When MK and I email, there are no words.  There are just someecards…all of which involve Fifty Shades of Grey, Disney, Call Me Maybe, Pinterest, or being fat. We’re someecard kindred spirits.  So it’s only fitting that my final farewell to MK is a montage of every fabulous someecard that reminds me of our precious time together.  If I did this correctly, you can click on one and they should make a little slideshow. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

