1 Comment

Almond Pound Cake

I’ve been lazy. And fat. But mainly lazy.  I’ve taken tons of pictures of everything I’ve eaten…and drank…but have just been too lazy to actually write about it all.  Apparently sitting on my couch rubbing my food baby belly and telling myself “I’m giving up sugar tomorrow” each night has been more important than attempting to entertain you fine people.

Well, I’m back. I’m sort of bored today and figured this was better than shopping with money I don’t have.  Before we dive into my most recent accomplishment, here’s a quick recap of some of the things I’ve been eating.

Oh, and how could I forget my most recent baking fail?? I attempted to make my mom a lovely peach cornbread.  Keyword: attempted.  Something just was not right. Maybe  it was the whole wheat flour. Or the creamed corn. Or not enough sugar. Or the peaches messed up the consistency. Or the measurements were off.  Or a combination of all of the above.  Clearly I know nothing about baking without a recipe, so my first real attempt at winging it didn’t quite work.  It looked very pretty coming out of the oven…

When I cut it, it looked like this:

Cooked on the outside, corn mush pudding on the inside.  Definitely not a recipe I’m going to post.  I even gave it to my parents with a note saying something to the effect of “feel free to throw this out because it’s nasty.”

So here I am today; bored and with a crazy sweet tooth. I had planned on making another attempt at baking with peaches, but they were getting too ripe a couple of days ago and I had to eat them. Instead I made something I’ve been wanting to make for awhile.  Almond pound cake! Well, I guess it’s more of a yogurt cake than a pound cake…but it tastes just as delicious!

Almond Pound Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 teaspoon almond extract
  • pinch salt
  • almond slivers, for garnish

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*

Combine sugar, yogurt, applesauce, eggs, vanilla extract, and almond extract in a bowl

In a small bowl, combine flour, almond meal, baking powder, and salt.  Slowly pour into wet ingredients.

The batter is going to be pretty thin.  This initially made my very nervous because it’s pound cake without any butter and no fatty substitutions to take its place.  I used fat free Greek yogurt  and applesauce.  I was actually just short of a half cup of applesauce, so I drizzled some oil in the measuring cup to make up the difference.

Pour batter into greased loaf pan.

Why yes, I do take pictures while sitting on my living room floor because it’s the only natural light I get. Maybe once I stop being lazy I’ll find some pretty tablecloths, place mats, and scrapbook paper so you don’t have to stare at my dull carpet.

Oh look, a change of scenery! This picture was taken on my couch haha. Garnish your (very thin) batter with slivered almonds and place in the oven for 50-55 minutes.

Pass the time with some Dawson’s Creek and a lovely glass of iced coffee.

Side note: seeing this glass makes two very contrasting emotions arise inside of me.  First is anxiety.  I trained like a mofo for this race, gave it my all for six brutal miles and then gave in to unbearable humidity for the remaining 7.1.  It took a lot out of me and pretty much turned me off of running long distances all summer. This normally wouldn’t be a bad thing, but seeing as I have another half marathon in two weeks that I haven’t trained for, you can understand my anxiety.  Too much summer boozing, not enough running.

The second emotion this glass makes me feel is pure joy because I met the love of my life after I finished this race…Adam Joseph! I was so nervous I spilled my beer on him and was a stuttering mess…aka my typical, awkward self. At least he still smiled in a picture with me.

Well, our pound cake is now done! I cooked mine for 55 minutes, stuck a knife in, and did a little happy dance when it came out clean. Your finished product should look something like this, if not prettier.

Let it cool, slice it up into nine or so pieces, and then eat three of the said pieces.  The only reason I didn’t eat more was because I remembered that I baked this pound cake for my mom.  And I should probably shower real quick and deliver these to her before she reads this post and starts tapping her foot.

One comment on “Almond Pound Cake

  1. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

