Leave a comment

Hey hey + Strawberry Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

Welcome!! I was hoping to start off this little adventure with some crazy recipe involving chocolate, peanut butter, caramel, marshmallow, lots of butter, and more sugar than you ever expected to eat in one sitting, but things don’t always go as planned.  You see, I woke up at 7:30 this morning with every intention of heading out for a lovely 8 mile run around 9am.  I got out of bed, poured myself a cup of coffee, turned on an episode of White Collar, and thought I would relax for an hour or so before heading out.  However, do you know how persuasive this dreamboat is?

One look into those gorgeous blue eyes and all thoughts of a run went out the window.  10 (yes, 10) episodes of his show later and all motivation to exercise is gone.  But, you know what isn’t gone? My craving for a cookie. Or maybe just some cookie dough. Either way, any excuse to prolong going for a run will always win in my book.  Now, here’s the thing.  I currently don’t have any of those fun ingredients in my apartment to make some crazy s’mores concoction.  I do have a few zucchinis with a case of elephantitis and a lot of delicious zucchini recipes I’ve been eyeing on Pinterest. So what did I make?  Strawberry Zucchini Oatmeal cookies.  How does that sound? Gross? Weird? Surprisingly delicious????

Strawberry Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies

Loosely adapted from Mom On Timeout

Makes 24-30 cookies (depends on how much cookie dough you eat)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c butter, softened
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 c wheat flour
  • 1 c old fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c zucchini, grated and drained
  • 1 c strawberries, diced
  • 1/2 c unsweetened coconut (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350*

Grate zucchini.  The zucchini is going to have a lot of water, so be sure to be very thorough in squeezing out all the excess water with a paper towel. It took me a few paper towels to get out most of the liquid.

Next, cut up your strawberries.  Aren’t strawberries such a pretty and happy fruit?

Beat butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl until creamy; about two minutes.  Add in the eggs and vanilla and continue beating until combined.

In a separate bowl, combine flours, oats, cinnamon, and baking soda. Give them a little whirl with a spoon to get all of your dry ingredients good and mixed.  Slowly add your dry ingredients to your wet. I usually pour a third of the dry ingredients in, let them mix, add the second third, let them combine, and then the last bit.

Once all of that stuff is good and combined, drop in your strawberries. Then your zucchini. And lastly, add the coconut if you have it.  I only added the coconut because I saw it randomly in my cabinet.  You could definitely use sweetened coconut, but I would maybe decrease some of the granulated sugar that the recipe calls for.  Your cookie dough should look like this:

Ok, I apologize for the bad pictures.  A point and shoot camera plus a kitchen with no windows make for some not so pretty pictures. Oh well.  As you can see, the cookie dough has more of a batter consistency.  Since the strawberries and zucchini are pretty wet, there’s a lot of moisture.  I’m sure you could add more flour, but I’m an amateur, so I just settle for cake-like cookies. Please forgive me.

Oh yeah, back to the recipe.  Dollop the dough on a cookie sheet and bake at 350* for 12-14 minutes.

While cookies are baking, pass the time by dancing around your kitchen to Wide Awake by Katy Perry. Also, just to prove that I really was planning on running, take a look at my flour covered running skirt.

While we’re waiting for those cookies to bake (I swear, they’re worth the wait!), let’s take a look at my lovely little kitchen.  Take note of the windows and all of the lovely natural light my kitchen gets. Oh wait, there are no windows.

Not too shabby, right? Ok, our cookies are ready!! How do they look?

Don’t be scared of those green specks! The zucchini is delicious, I promise. And those strawberries? They taste great with the oatmeal.  I actually can’t really taste the coconut in these bad boys, so you don’t have to add that.  I’d say this recipe makes 30 cookies. Mine yielded 24, but I ate a lot of the cookie dough. It was just calling my name.  Well, now that my sweet tooth is satisfied and I can’t think of anymore ways to procrastinate, I should probably set out on those 8 miles. This should be interesting…

Leave a Reply

