2 Comments

White Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

It’s a wonder I have any ingredients left to even make these blondies.  We all remember what happened with the peanut butter last week. Well, it’s a good thing I was away all weekend because otherwise there would be zero peanut butter left and this recipe wasn’t going to happen. Actually, I came home from the gym yesterday morning and dipped some pretzels into this peanut butter…and then when I realized I needed to save what was left of the peanut butter and pretzels, I went ahead and ate some (ok, half a brick) of leftover fontina cheese.   At 7:30 AM.  Why do I have fontina cheese, you ask? Because me and this chick had a CRAZY Friday night.

It started out innocent enough with the idea to make THESE amazing nachos…with the addition of black beans and a block of queso fresco because you can never have too much cheese. Clearly ours didn’t look as delicious as How Sweet’s looks, but I’m sure they tasted just as yummy. See, check out our cute little set up.

Aaaaand let’s get a close up.

We were very proud of ourselves for eating about half of the nachos before putting them in the kitchen and out of sight. We then settled in with a bottle of wine and, you guessed it, some episodes of White Collar.

Dreaaaaaaaaam boat! I LOVE YOU FOREVER.

Soon enough, our sweet tooths kicked in and we went to town on left over toffee bits and white chocolate chips.  They are one amaaaazing combination. If there’s any left after I emotional eat because I can’t marry Matt Bomer make the below blondies, there may be a toffee/white chocolate chip recipe in your future. Oh, and before I forget, the rest of the nachos got devoured before I took Kristin to the train station on Friday night.  Yup, nachos made for eight people were devoured by two.  Fatties of the world unite! Just your typical, run-of-the-mill single girl Friday night.

So, these blondies.  The ones that I was supposed to make last Thursday but chose to run 8 miles and stuff my face with a fatty, greasy dinner instead.  Then they were supposed to be made on Sunday, but I chose to go to bed instead. Soooo they were made last night.  I promise they were worth the wait!  There is absolutely nothing healthy about this recipe.   No applesauce, no whole wheat flour, no fruit, no veggies. There are, however, two sticks of butter! Yum!  And this is why I made these blondies Monday night after a morning that consisted of running 3 miles, spinning for 45 minutes, and then kicking my own butt with 45 minutes of lifting.  Oh, and then going for a lovely stroll  at night with my dear friend Lisa after these baked to help ease the cramping in my stomach from the sugar shock I put it in. That’s what too many white chocolate chips and three giant squares of these bars will do to you.  I’m definitely going to die an early (but happy) death.

White Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

(I really need to work on shortening the names of my concoctions)

Ingredients

1 c butter (2 sticks)
1 c brown sugar, packed
1/2 c white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp salt
1/2 c peanut butter
1 c white chocolate chips
1 1/2 c pretzels, crushed
 
 
Preheat over to 350*
 
 
Start by browning your butter.  I’m not the best at this because I have a crazy fear that I will burn the butter, but it seems like it turned out.  Need a butter browning tutorial?  Check this out.
 
 
 
 
 
Pour browned butter in a large mixing bowl and allow to cool down for a few minutes.  Add brown sugar and mix until creamy.  Add white sugar. Mix until it looks like root beer water ice (seriously). Add the eggs and vanilla. Once that is combined, add the peanut butter. You can definitely use more peanut butter, in fact I recommend it, but I only had half a cup left.  Damn you binge eating!!!
 
 
In a smaller bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Slowly add to the rest of the mixture.  Once combined, pour in your white chocolate chips.  Ignore the sounds your KitchenAid motor makes because your dough is too thick for it to handle (don’t you just hate when it’s too thick to handle? Nope, me neither). Add in 1 cup of the crushed pretzels, let them mix until they seem well combined, and then console your overheating KitchenAid.
 
 
Line a 9×13 baking dish with parchment paper. Press dough into the  dish and spread evenly.  Top with the remaining 1/2 c of crushed pretzels.  Since this was the bottom of my pretzel bag, I also took all of the salt on the bottom and sprinkled it on top.  These bars are definitely sweet, so the extra salt is a fabulous balance.
 
 
Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.   Let blondies sit in the dish for about an hour to cool. I let mine sit for about 20 minutes before cutting them because I am impatient and really just wanted to gobble these suckers down.
 
 
 
Come over anytime and help me eat these.  Please bring milk.  And sweat pants.
2 comments on “White Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

  1. Delicious and my samples were delivered to my door.

  2. [...] 1. Laura’s White Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Bars [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

